Texas Education Code

Sec. § 29.006
Continuing Advisory Committee


The governor shall appoint a continuing advisory committee, composed of 17 members, under 20 U.S.C. Section 1412(a)(21). At least one member appointed under this subsection must be a director of special education programs for a school district.


The appointments are not subject to confirmation by the senate.


Members of the committee are appointed for staggered terms of four years with the terms of eight or nine members expiring on February 1 of each odd-numbered year.


Committee meetings must be conducted in compliance with Chapter 551 (Open Meetings), Government Code.


The committee shall provide a procedure for members of the public to speak at committee meetings. The procedure may not require a member of the public to register to speak earlier than the day of the meeting.


The agency must post on the agency’s Internet website:


contact information for the committee, including an e-mail address;


notice of each open meeting of the committee;


minutes of each open meeting of the committee; and


guidance concerning how to submit public comments to the committee.


The committee shall develop a policy to encourage public participation with the committee.


Not later than January 1 of each odd-numbered year, the committee shall submit a report to the legislature with recommended changes to state law and agency rules relating to special education. The committee shall include the committee’s current policy on encouraging public participation, as required by Subsection (g), in the report.
Added by Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 260, Sec. 1, eff. May 30, 1995. Amended by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 767, Sec. 4, eff. June 13, 2001.
Amended by:
Acts 2011, 82nd Leg., R.S., Ch. 44 (H.B. 861), Sec. 1, eff. May 12, 2011.
Acts 2017, 85th Leg., R.S., Ch. 547 (S.B. 436), Sec. 1, eff. September 1, 2017.
Acts 2019, 86th Leg., R.S., Ch. 439 (S.B. 1376), Sec. 1.02, eff. June 4, 2019.

Last accessed
Jun. 7, 2021