Texas Special District Local Laws Code

Sec. § 8382.051
Governing Body; Terms


Except as provided by Subsection (b), the district is governed by a board of five elected directors.


If required under the terms of the agreement, ordinance, or resolution by which a municipality consents to the creation of the district, the board consists of:


four elected directors; and


one director appointed by the governing body of the municipality.


A director appointed under Subsection (b)(2) is not required to be a qualified voter of the district or to own land subject to taxation in the district.


Except as provided by Section 8382.052 (Temporary Directors), directors serve staggered four-year terms. A permanent director may not serve more than two four-year terms.


The common law doctrine of incompatibility does not disqualify an official or employee of a municipality from being appointed a director by the governing body of a municipality under Subsection (b)(2), and a director appointed to the board may continue to serve in a public office of or be employed by the municipality.
Added by Acts 2011, 82nd Leg., R.S., Ch. 1114 (S.B. 1913), Sec. 1, eff. June 17, 2011.

Last accessed
Jun. 7, 2021