Texas Special District Local Laws Code
Sec. § 8132.152
Division Procedures


The board may consider a proposal to divide the district on its own motion or on receipt of a petition to that effect from a district landowner.


The board may adopt a resolution to divide the district into two districts named Williamson County Municipal Utility District No. 21-A and Williamson County Municipal Utility District No. 21-B. The resolution must include:


the names of and a metes and bounds description of the territory of the two new districts; and


the terms and conditions of the division, including a plan that:


ensures current obligations of the district are not impaired by providing for the payment or performance of any outstanding district obligations; and


provides for the assumption of any district obligations under an agreement with or resolution adopted by a municipality having jurisdiction over the creation of the district consenting to the creation of the district, to the extent that the agreement or resolution:


is applicable;


is not contrary to any other law or provision of this chapter; and


does not impose obligations that limit the district’s powers and authority to issue bonds for any purpose authorized under this chapter.


Not later than the 30th day after the date the board adopts a resolution dividing the district, the board shall provide a copy of the resolution and the names of the temporary directors of the new districts to:


the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality;


the attorney general;


the Commissioners Court of Williamson County; and


any municipality having extraterritorial jurisdiction over land in the original district.
Added by Acts 2009, 81st Leg., R.S., Ch. 1075 (H.B. 4748), Sec. 4, eff. June 19, 2009.
Last accessed
Apr. 14, 2021