Texas Special District Local Laws Code
Sec. § 8111.106
Election of Directors of New Districts


After a division under this subchapter, the board shall continue to act as the board of the original district.


Not later than the 90th day after the date of the division, the board shall appoint five directors for each of the new districts. A person appointed under this subsection is not required to own land in or reside in the district for which the director is appointed.


Directors of the original district serve the staggered terms to which they were elected before the division. Directors appointed under Subsection (b) serve until June 1 following the election for directors under Subsection (d).


On the uniform election date in May of the first even-numbered year after the year in which the directors are appointed, an election shall be held to elect five directors in each district for which directors were appointed under Subsection (b). Of the five directors elected in each district, the three directors receiving the greatest number of votes shall serve terms expiring June 1 following the second regularly scheduled election of directors under Subsection (e), and the remaining two directors shall serve terms expiring June 1 following the first regularly scheduled election of directors.


Except as provided by Subsection (d), directors serve staggered four-year terms. On the uniform election date in May of each even-numbered year, the appropriate number of directors shall be elected.
Added by Acts 2005, 79th Leg., Ch. 1168 (H.B. 3497), Sec. 1, eff. September 1, 2005.
Last accessed
May. 14, 2021