Texas Transportation Code
Sec. § 521.372
Automatic Suspension; License Denial


(a)

A person’s driver’s license is automatically suspended on final conviction of:

(1)

an offense under the Controlled Substances Act;

(2)

a drug offense; or

(3)

a felony under Chapter 481 (Texas Controlled Substances Act), Health and Safety Code, that is not a drug offense.

(b)

The department may not issue a driver’s license to a person convicted of an offense specified in Subsection (a) who, on the date of the conviction, did not hold a driver’s license.

(c)

Except as provided by Section 521.374(b), the period of suspension under this section is the 180 days after the date of a final conviction, and the period of license denial is the 180 days after the date the person applies to the department for reinstatement or issuance of a driver’s license.
Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 165, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1995.
Source
Last accessed
Sep. 18, 2020