Texas Transportation Code
Sec. § 521.204
Restrictions on Minor


(a)

The department may issue a Class C driver’s license to an applicant under 18 years of age only if the applicant:

(1)

is 16 years of age or older;

(2)

has submitted to the department a driver education certificate issued under Section 1001.055 (Driver Education Certificates and Certificate Numbers), Education Code, that states that the person has completed and passed a driver education course approved by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation;

(3)

has obtained a high school diploma or its equivalent or is a student:

(A)

enrolled in a public school, home school, or private school who attended school for at least 80 days in the fall or spring semester preceding the date of the driver’s license application; or

(B)

who has been enrolled for at least 45 days, and is enrolled as of the date of the application, in a program to prepare persons to pass the high school equivalency exam;

(4)

has submitted to the department written parental or guardian permission:

(A)

for the department to access the applicant’s school enrollment records maintained by the Texas Education Agency; and

(B)

for a school administrator or law enforcement officer to notify the department in the event that the person has been absent from school for at least 20 consecutive instructional days; and

(5)

has passed the examination required by Section 521.161 (Examination of License Applicants).

(b)

The department may not issue a Class A, B, or C driver’s license other than a hardship license to an applicant under 18 years of age unless the applicant has held a learner license or hardship license for at least six months preceding the date of the application.
Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 165, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1995. Amended by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 165, Sec. 30.78(a), eff. Sept. 1, 1997; Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 1251, Sec. 1, eff. Jan. 1, 2002.
Amended by:
Acts 2009, 81st Leg., R.S., Ch. 1146 (H.B. 2730), Sec. 12.06, eff. September 1, 2009.
Acts 2009, 81st Leg., R.S., Ch. 1253 (H.B. 339), Sec. 13, eff. September 1, 2009.
Acts 2011, 82nd Leg., R.S., Ch. 1160 (H.B. 2466), Sec. 1, eff. September 1, 2011.
Acts 2015, 84th Leg., R.S., Ch. 1044 (H.B. 1786), Sec. 61, eff. September 1, 2015.
Acts 2017, 85th Leg., R.S., Ch. 1059 (H.B. 3050), Sec. 7, eff. September 1, 2017.
Source
Last accessed
Apr. 10, 2021