Tex. Occ. Code Section 2022.001
Commission Membership


The commission consists of:


seven members appointed by the governor with the advice and consent of the senate; and


two ex officio members who have the right to vote.


The ex officio members are:


the chair of the Public Safety Commission, or a member of the Public Safety Commission designated by the chair; and


the commissioner of agriculture or the commissioner’s designee.


Of the appointed commission members:


five members must be representatives of the general public and have general knowledge of business or agribusiness;


one additional member must have special knowledge or experience related to horse racing; and


one additional member must have special knowledge or experience related to greyhound racing.


At least one of the members appointed under Subsection (c)(1) may be a veterinarian. Holding a veterinarian’s license satisfies the requirement that the person have general knowledge of business or agribusiness.


Appointments to the commission shall be made without regard to the race, color, disability, sex, religion, age, or national origin of the appointees.


In making appointments to the commission, the governor shall attempt to reflect the minority groups found in the state’s general populace.
Added by Acts 2017, 85th Leg., R.S., Ch. 963 (S.B. 1969), Sec. 1.01, eff. April 1, 2019.
Amended by:
Acts 2021, 87th Leg., R.S., Ch. 915 (H.B. 3607), Sec. 14.004, eff. September 1, 2021.

Source: Section 2022.001 — Commission Membership, https://statutes.­capitol.­texas.­gov/Docs/OC/htm/OC.­2022.­htm#2022.­001 (accessed Jun. 5, 2024).

Jun. 5, 2024

§ 2022.001’s source at texas​.gov