Texas Parks and Wildlife Code

Sec. § 47.007
Commercial Fishing Boat License


(a)

No person may use a vessel required to be numbered or registered under the laws of this state or the United States for the purpose of catching or assisting in catching aquatic products except shrimp, oysters, or menhaden, from the waters of this state, or have on board a vessel, or unload, or allow to be unloaded at a port or point in this state, edible aquatic products caught or taken from salt water outside the state without having been previously unloaded in some other state or foreign country, for pay or for the purpose of sale, barter, exchange, or any other commercial purpose unless the vessel is licensed as a commercial fishing boat and has a commercial fishing boat number affixed to it.

(b)

Except as provided by Subsection (e) of this section, the fee for a commercial fishing boat license and number is $10.50 or an amount set by the commission, whichever amount is more.

(c)

The commission shall provide by rule for the issuance and use of commercial fishing boat numbers. Each boat required to be licensed by this section shall have the number affixed to the bow of the boat or to such other location on the boat as will be readily accessible for unimpaired visual inspection of the number by a person on another boat. In such instances where the number will not properly affix to a wooden boat, the commission shall provide for an alternate means of identification of such boat. Unless provided otherwise herein or by the rules of the commission, a license issued under this section is not valid unless the number is affixed to the boat as required by this section and the rules of the commission.

(d)

An applicant for a commercial fishing boat license, which is not a renewal of the previous year’s license, must submit to the department the vessel’s United States Coast Guard Certificate of Documentation or Texas’ or other state’s Certificate of Number for a vessel or motorboat. The license issued by the department must contain:

(1)

the name of the boat if the boat is registered with the United States Coast Guard; and

(2)

the number appearing on the United States Coast Guard Certificate of Documentation or Texas’ or other state’s Certificate of Number.

(e)

The fee for a commercial fishing boat license for a boat that is not numbered under Chapter 31 (Water Safety) of this code or does not have a certificate of documentation issued by the United States Coast Guard that lists an address in Texas for the boat owner or other criteria established by the commission is $60 or an amount set by the commission, whichever amount is more.

(f)

A person who engages in commercial finfish fishing under Subchapter D and who holds a commercial finfish fisherman’s license issued under Subchapter D in their immediate possession is not required to obtain or possess a commercial fishing boat license.
Acts 1975, 64th Leg., p. 1405, ch. 545, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1975. Amended by Acts 1981, 67th Leg., p. 377, ch. 153, Sec. 10, eff. Sept. 1, 1981; Acts 1983, 68th Leg., p. 1333, ch. 277, Sec. 27, eff. Sept. 1, 1983; Acts 1983, 68th Leg., p. 4055, ch. 634, Sec. 5, eff. Sept. 1, 1983; Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 267, art. 2, Sec. 40, eff. Sept. 1, 1985; Acts 1987, 70th Leg., ch. 621, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1987; Acts 1989, 71st Leg., ch. 255, Sec. 15, eff. July 31, 1989; Acts 1991, 72nd Leg., ch. 723, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1991; Acts 1993, 73rd Leg., ch. 365, Sec. 8, 9, eff. Sept. 1, 1993; Acts 1993, 73rd Leg., ch. 450, Sec. 24, eff. Sept. 1, 1993; Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 931, Sec. 60, eff. June 16, 1995; Acts 1999, 76th Leg., ch. 455, Sec. 3, eff. Sept. 1, 1999.
Source

Last accessed
Jun. 7, 2021