Texas Health and Safety Code

Sec. § 773.115
Trauma Facilities


The department may designate trauma facilities that are a part of an emergency medical services and trauma care system. A trauma facility shall be designated by the level of trauma care and services provided in accordance with the American College of Surgeons guidelines for level I and II trauma facilities and department rules for level III and IV trauma facilities. In adopting rules under this section, the executive commissioner may consider trauma caseloads, geographic boundaries, or minimum population requirements, but the department may not deny designation solely on these criteria. The executive commissioner may not set an arbitrary limit on the number of facilities designated as trauma facilities.


A health care facility may apply to the department for designation as a trauma facility, and the department shall grant the designation if the facility meets the requirements for designation prescribed by department rules.


A health care facility may not use the terms “trauma facility,” “trauma hospital,” “trauma center,” or similar terminology in its signs or advertisements or in the printed materials and information it provides to the public unless the facility has been designated as a trauma facility under this subchapter.
Added by Acts 1991, 72nd Leg., ch. 14, Sec. 267, eff. Sept. 1, 1991. Redesignated from Health & Safety Code Sec. 773.085 by Acts 1991, 72nd Leg., ch. 605, Sec. 9, eff. Sept. 1, 1991. Amended by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 435, Sec. 8, eff. Sept. 1, 1997; Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 874, Sec. 7, eff. Sept. 1, 2001.
Amended by:
Acts 2015, 84th Leg., R.S., Ch. 1 (S.B. 219), Sec. 3.1558, eff. April 2, 2015.

Last accessed
Jun. 7, 2021