Texas Parks and Wildlife Code

Sec. § 76.403
Oyster License Moratorium Review Board


The holders of commercial oyster boat licenses shall elect an oyster license moratorium review board of seven members.


A member of the review board must be a holder of a commercial oyster boat license.


The seven members of the review board must be selected to reflect the following geographical distribution according to the county of residence specified on the member’s commercial oyster boat license:


one member representing Orange, Jefferson, Chambers, and Harris Counties;


two members representing Galveston County;


one member representing Brazoria and Matagorda Counties;


two members representing Calhoun, Aransas, Nueces, San Patricio, and Refugio Counties; and


one member representing Kleberg, Cameron, and Willacy Counties.


The review board shall advise the commission and department and make recommendations concerning the administrative aspects of the oyster license moratorium program, including hardship and appeal cases concerning eligibility.


The director shall adopt procedures for the election and operation of the review board. The director shall solicit and consider recommendations from the commercial oyster boat license holders regarding the procedures and the continued need for the board.


The review board is not subject to Chapter 2110 (State Agency Advisory Committees), Government Code.
Added by Acts 2005, 79th Leg., Ch. 104 (S.B. 272), Sec. 1, eff. May 20, 2005.

Last accessed
Jun. 7, 2021