Texas Government Code

Sec. § 77.012


The committee is composed of 15 members appointed by the chief justice of the supreme court.


The chief justice of the supreme court, in making appointments to the committee, shall attempt to select members who are representative of, but not limited to, appellate court judges, appellate court clerks, district court judges, county court judges, statutory probate judges, justices of the peace, municipal court judges, district attorneys, court reporters, court administrators, district or county clerks, members of the legislature, attorneys, and the general public. The members shall be selected based on their experience, expertise, or special interest in the use of technology in court. A representative from the Office of Court Administration of the Texas Judicial System shall serve as a nonvoting member of the committee.


The chief justice of the supreme court shall designate the presiding officer of the committee. The presiding officer may form subcommittees as needed to accomplish the business of the committee.


A person may not serve on the committee if the person is required to register as a lobbyist under Chapter 305 (Registration of Lobbyists) because of the person’s activities for compensation on behalf of a profession related to the business of the committee.
Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1327, Sec. 4, eff. Sept. 1, 1997.

Last accessed
Jun. 7, 2021