Texas Government Code
Sec. § 411.181
Notice of Change of Information; Duplicate License


(a)

If a person who is a current license holder moves from any residence address stated on the license, if the name of the person is changed by marriage or otherwise, or if the persons status becomes inapplicable for purposes of the information required to be displayed on the license under Section 411.179 (Form of License), the person shall, not later than the 30th day after the date of the address, name, or status change, notify the department and provide the department with the number of the persons license and, as applicable, the persons:

(1)

former and new addresses;

(2)

former and new names; or

(3)

former and new status.

(a-1)

If a license holder whose license will expire under Section 411.183 (Expiration)(a)(1)(B) or (b)(1)(B) is granted an extension for the license holders lawful presence in the United States as determined by the United States agency responsible for citizenship and immigration in compliance with federal law, the license holder may apply to the department for a duplicate license with an updated expiration date by providing to the department the persons license number and evidence of the extension. The duplicate license must provide for an expiration date, calculated in accordance with Section 411.183 (Expiration)(a) or (b), as applicable, that takes into account the extension of the period for which the license holder may be lawfully present in the United States.

(b)

If the name of the license holder is changed by marriage or otherwise, or if the persons status becomes inapplicable as described by Subsection (a), the person shall apply for a duplicate license. The duplicate license must reflect the persons current name, residence address, and status.

(c)

If a license holder moves from the address stated on the license, the person shall apply for a duplicate license.

(d)

The department shall charge a license holder a fee of $25 for a duplicate license.

(e)

The department shall make the forms available on request.

(f)

On request of a local law enforcement agency, the department shall notify the agency of changes made under Subsection (a) by license holders who reside in the county in which the agency is located.

(g)

If a license is lost, stolen, or destroyed, the license holder shall apply for a duplicate license not later than the 30th day after the date of the loss, theft, or destruction of the license.

(h)

If a license holder is required under this section to apply for a duplicate license and the license expires not later than the 60th day after the date of the loss, theft, or destruction of the license, the applicant may renew the license with the modified information included on the new license. The applicant must pay only the nonrefundable renewal fee.

(i)

A license holder whose application fee for a duplicate license under this section is dishonored or reversed may reapply for a duplicate license at any time, provided the application fee and a dishonored payment charge of $25 is paid by cashiers check or money order made payable to the “Texas Department of Public Safety.”
Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 165, Sec. 10.01(a), eff. Sept. 1, 1997. Amended by Acts 1999, 76th Leg., ch. 1189, Sec. 15, eff. Sept. 1, 1999.
Amended by:
Acts 2005, 79th Leg., Ch. 1065 (H.B. 1483), Sec. 3, eff. September 1, 2005.
Acts 2007, 80th Leg., R.S., Ch. 594 (H.B. 41), Sec. 10, eff. September 1, 2007.
Acts 2007, 80th Leg., R.S., Ch. 1222 (H.B. 2300), Sec. 2, eff. June 15, 2007.
Acts 2009, 81st Leg., R.S., Ch. 316 (H.B. 598), Sec. 6, eff. September 1, 2009.
Acts 2009, 81st Leg., R.S., Ch. 1146 (H.B. 2730), Sec. 11.08, eff. September 1, 2009.
Acts 2019, 86th Leg., R.S., Ch. 1369 (H.B. 4428), Sec. 2, eff. September 1, 2019.
Acts 2019, 86th Leg., R.S., Ch. 1369 (H.B. 4428), Sec. 3, eff. September 1, 2019.
Source
Last accessed
May. 25, 2020