Tex. Gov't Code Section 323.001
Creation and Membership


The Texas Legislative Council is an agency of the legislative branch of state government.


The council consists of:


the lieutenant governor;


the speaker of the house of representatives;


the chairman of the house administration committee;


six senators from various areas of the state appointed by the president of the senate; and


five other members of the house of representatives from various areas of the state appointed by the speaker.


The lieutenant governor and the speaker are joint chairs of the council.


If a vacancy occurs in the appointed membership, the appropriate appointing authority shall appoint a person to serve for the remainder of the unexpired term.


Except for the lieutenant governor and the speaker, each member serves a term beginning on the date of the member’s appointment and ending with the convening of the first regular legislative session that occurs after the date of appointment.


The lieutenant governor and the speaker act as the council during a regular legislative session.
Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 479, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1985. Amended by Acts 2003, 78th Leg., ch. 1328, Sec. 6, eff. June 21, 2003; Acts 2003, 78th Leg., 3rd C.S., ch. 3, Sec. 6.10, 6.11, eff. Jan. 11, 2004.

Source: Section 323.001 — Creation and Membership, https://statutes.­capitol.­texas.­gov/Docs/GV/htm/GV.­323.­htm#323.­001 (accessed Dec. 2, 2023).

Dec. 2, 2023

§ 323.001’s source at texas​.gov